Latest | 7 NOV 2016

Javier Tebas receives the Puerta-Jarque Fair Play Award at the Premios MARCA

The LaLiga president was one of the award winners at a ceremony where the brilliance of the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo, Luis Suarez, Alvaro Morata, Diego Simeone, Jan Oblak and Aritz Aduriz was also honoured.

The Premios MARCA de Futbol – the annual football awards ceremony organised by Spanish newspaper MARCA – once again gathered together the stars of LaLiga and recognised the outstanding figures from the 2015/16 season. Amongst this edition's prize winners was the president of LaLiga, Javier Tebas, who picked up the Puerta-Jarque Fair Play Award for his battle to promote the values of fair play and sportsmanship.

"This award recognises the work of LaLiga and of all of the clubs, but there is still work to be done. The stadiums need to remain family-friendly venues where people go to enjoy themselves," assured Tebas.

The event, which was held at Florida Retiro in Madrid this Monday, was graced with the presence of a number of officials, such as Miguel Cardenal, president of Spain's High Council for Sport, as well as renowned Spanish athletes from other disciplines, including Cristian Toro and Dani Caverzaschi.

In addition to the prize which president Tebas received, awards were also handed out to the outstanding players, coaches and officials in LaLiga Santander and LaLiga 1|2|3 last season. Cristiano Ronaldo captured the Alfredo Di Stefano Trophy, handed out to the player of the season in LaLiga Santander, for the fourth time. Luis Suarez landed the Pichichi Trophy as the top scorer in the league last term, with 40 goals, while Jan Oblak claimed the Zamora Trophy for the best keeper in the division. Similarly, Alvaro Morata was named the Spanish national team's leading light of the campaign, Diego Simeone took away the Miguel Muñoz Trophy as the top coach in LaLiga Santander, Aritz Aduriz scooped the Zarra Trophy as the most prolific Spanish player in the division and Carlos Velasco Carballo won the Guruceta Trophy for the league's finest referee.

As for LaLiga 1|2|3, Sergio Leon secured both the Pichichi and Zarra gongs, Isaac Becerra claimed Zamora honours, Asier Garitano was given the Miguel Muñoz Trophy in recognition of his achievement in guiding CD Leganes to a historic promotion and Oliver de la Fuente Ramos garnered the Guruceta Trophy.

© LaLiga - Year 2016

Speaking about: LaLiga, LaLiga Santander, Javier Tebas, Premios Marca, Premio al Juego Limpio Jarque-Puerta