Institutional | 1 JUL 2016

LaLiga and LaLiga2 to be the official names for Spain's top two divisions

The top two tiers of Spanish professional football are officially changing their names for the 2016/17 season, once the sponsorship deal with the banking group BBVA ends.

LaLiga is officially rebranding its top two divisions. LaLiga and LaLiga2 will be the official names of the competitions from 1 July 2016, the day after the conclusion of the sponsorship deal with BBVA.

The banking institution has been a LaLiga partner since the 2006/07 season when the second tier was rebranded as the Liga BBVA. Two years later, the sponsorship agreement was extended, with the top flight renamed the Liga BBVA, while Liga Adelante became the official name for the second division. These versions remained until the end of the 2015/16 campaign.

BBVA was the sponsor for LaLiga for ten seasons and oversaw a total of 3,040 top-flight fixtures, 4,620 in the second tier and 42 playoff ties, which were introduced in the 2010/11 campaign in order for the teams that finish third, fourth, fifth and sixth to battle it out for promotion to the top tier.

The strategic decision not to have a 'title sponsor' is a way for LaLiga to strengthen their commitment to their own brand by linking it to both divisions, helping to further extend the global reach of the best football in the world. 

© LaLiga - Year 2016

Speaking about: LaLiga, LaLiga 2, Temporada 2016/17