Latest | 29 APR 2018

Barcelona crowned champions of LaLiga Santander 2017/18

Ernesto Valverde's team lift their 25th league trophy following a perfect season in which they have yet to suffer defeat.

The time has come to announce the LaLiga Santander champions for the 2017/18 season. FC Barcelona claim the title with just 35 games played after beating RC Deportivo 4-2 at Riazor.

The team managed by Ernesto Valverde have amassed 86 points, netting 42 goals and conceding just 13. Even more impressively, they have not suffered a single defeat in the entire competition. These fantastic figures mean they take back the title held by Real Madrid, the champions in the 2016/17 season.

Propelled by the brilliant Lionel Messi (32 goals) and Andres Iniesta playing his final season in LaLiga Santander, strategy, consistency and group courage were the decisive factors which secured them the title. Marc Andre Ter Stegen has made his goalmouth a fortress again, helped in large part by Gerard Pique and Samuel Umtiti. In the middle of the park, the solidity of Sergio Busquets, the consistency of Ivan Rakitic and the gradual incorporation of Philippe Coutinho into the XI from the halfway point have kept things running like clockwork. The firepower up front finished the job, courtesy of the unstoppable Luis Suarez, Paco Alcacer and Messi.

After winning the Copa del Rey on 21 April against Sevilla FC, Los Azulgranas are now celebrating their 25th LaLiga Santander trophy. 

© LaLiga - Year 2018

Speaking about: FC Barcelona, Temporada 2017/18, LaLiga Santander